Surviving GCSE’s

Posted on Updated on

Finally! The Dare household is free of the curse of the GCSE’s, Star has finished today, and now all we have to worry about is the Prom (and results later in the summer of course)!

I had forgotten the joy of exams, the last ‘proper’ exams I did were my degree finals over 25 years ago. I recall them taking over my life for about 4 months and feeling as if I had nothing to do once I finished them (luckily swiftly sorted by getting a job). More recently I had a day of exams to qualify as an Energy Assessor, not a pleasant reminder either!

The GCSE experience has however been all-encompassing, revision has been a very ‘hands on’ experience for us all. My wife has provided the major support mechanism (thank you!) and this she has found very time-consuming. However, she does think she could get some good GCSE’s herself now though!

I am now looking forward to a quiet ‘normal’ home existence. Yes there will without doubt be the occasional teenage outburst, and arguments. But, in real terms normality will have returned and we can function again as a family unit.

The Prom dress is currently being completed – luckily my wife is a very capable dress-maker! It would appear that we now have a satisfactory product,  the shoes I gather are being purchased this week, hopefully at a discount price – probably highly unlikely!

Star has worked incredibly hard for her exams, hopefully the pain  will have been worth it for her. We can only hope that she gets the results she hopes for and deserves.

Results day is now only 9 weeks away, this will add the next element of excitement to family life. Plus its only two years to go to the A levels and then the year after Sam starts his GCSE year ………

definitely beginning to feel old (but very proud)!

Leave a Reply

