Apple ‘care’?

Posted on Updated on

As I have mentioned on here a number of times I am lucky enough to be an iPhone 4 user, courtesy of my work. We have around 35 users so have more than done our bit to make Steve Jobs that little bit more wealthy (although he won’t have noticed!)

The phones are great, and those of us with issues on signal drop have either got our free cases from Apple, or have them on order already – Thanks Steve!

However, one of the other ‘issues’ with the new iPhone is it’s actual construction. Yes, it is a fabulous looking piece of kit, but I did wonder how capable of taking knocks it would be (despite Apples claim that the glass is super strong). Over two years with iPhone 3G’s we have had some breakages, but generally the phones have been quite strong.

oops!

Well this week my doubts were answered – two front screens broken in one day. Both from a single drop.

So this then raises the question – how to get them repaired?

First stop – KRCS in the Victoria Centre in Nottingham. They are approved Apple resellers, and really nice people, so I assumed they could do repairs.

Unfortunately they have been told by Apple that they cannot do repairs to iPhones anymore (they used to). All I can assume is if they do they will get into ‘trouble’ (presumably this entails losing their licence to sell Apple goods).

Luckily they were able to suggest a repairer – quickiphonerepairs.co.uk – A call to them was answered instantly and a rough cost provided together with an email confirmation. Great service!

As a check on the cost (which I am pretty sure is a lot cheaper than Apple charge) I thought I would call the Apple Store in Leicester. They have a fully automated call system with lots of options, I went for the one to allow me to speak to someone. The system told me I was in a queue, but would be dealt with swiftly as my call mattered. After a few minutes the system told me I was second in the queue – fair enough I thought I will wait. Ten minutes later I was apparently next to be answered – hooray!

Twenty minutes later I was still next to be called (I assume the person before me had given up), after 30 minutes I hung up. I still have no idea how much Apple would charge for the repair. Do I care? No, the work will go to quickiphonerepairs.co.uk.

What annoys me is the customer care from Apple in Leicester. Why have a fancy phone system if you have no intention of answering it?

Yes, Apple produce achingly beautiful kit, but once they have your money they are just like any other big corporate!

Sorry Steve, you failed!

4 thoughts on “Apple ‘care’?

    Adrian said:
    July 31, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    The bigger the company the harder it is to talk to a human being belonging to that company, or so it seems. I had to return a bike, well two bikes actually, to Amazon recently. Fair play to them, they didn’t quibble and offered me a full refund, but I had to wait 30 minutes or so each time I called them and none of those calls were free. These huge corporates are very good at up-scalling their sales and production departments when demand requires, but don’t seem to want to apply the same logic when it comes to support… Hmmm, I wonder why that is?

      Simon Dare responded:
      July 31, 2010 at 6:34 pm

      Adrian

      My issue is that the Apple store is their public face. So in my view not answering the phone is unforgivable!

      I do know from previous contact with them regarding repairs to 3G phones that to get two phones looked at I needed to book two appointments with the genius bar – what is that about!

        Adrian said:
        July 31, 2010 at 6:45 pm

        Ah, I didn’t notice that at first read, I thought you’d tried to call an Apple helpline or something. Well, that is pretty shocking if you can’t even get through to one of their stores promptly.

        As for the genius bar, I have no idea what that’s all about. Presumably though, once there, you’ll be able to share a pint with Professors Brian Cox & Stephen Hawking, whilst a 17 year old YTS assistant on minimum wage books your phones in to be repaired by God (aka Steve Jobs) himself.

    Tim GARRATT said:
    July 31, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Could have all been saved had we not employed numpties who drop the damned things? And it always seems to be the same people???

Leave a Reply

