iOS 4.2.1 USB issue

Posted on Updated on

Last night after having issues downloading the iPhone iOS4.2.1 update (Apples servers seemed to be suffering – probably all those iPad owners updating!) I finally managed to update my iPhone 4 with no problems – great, it’s always a relief when that happens!

Unfortunately I have discovered a glitch this morning that prevents me from linking my iPhone to my Volvo via its USB link. This does not sound like a major issue, but the only time I listen to my iPod is in the car (and yes, I sing along!) – so I am now forced to listen to the radio! Alternatively I will have to get my old iPod nano back from my father in law but that would seem rather harsh!

I am confident it is not just an issue with my phone – I have found a growing trail on the apple forum relating to this – it is here. So I would advise anyone to think hard before updating if they use a USB  link in a Volvo (the factory fitted one).

This has also forced me to register as an apple developer to enable me to provide a bug report to Apple – a slightly weird way to have to do this, but hopefully they will take note.

Help Steve, I want my music back!

UPDATE – 24th Nov

I spoke to Apple last night and asked for help rolling back to the previous version of iOS. They asked me why and I told them it was because their update had broken my piece of kit – ‘not our fault’  was the reply! – How incredibly helpful NOT!

 Also they wanted to charge me to give me the information to roll back my iPhone!

I will therefore now be looking for advice on how to roll back – anyone got the heads up on this?

I can also understand why people jailbreak their iPhones now – perhaps Steve is just a bit too much of a control freak?

UPDATE 30th Dec

The forums are indicating that Apple have confirmed that this is a bug and their engineers are aware of it – hope they find and release a fix soon!

UPDATE 13th Jan 2011

Well its been a long time coming but according to the Apple forums the new iOS 4.3 which has been seeded to beta testers in the last 24 hours actually works in the Volvo! I am not able to test this, and we have a long way to go before 4.3 is released in its final form (Early March apparently), but assuming they don’t break it again in later betas we could have our iPhones working in our Volvo’s again!

FINAL UPDATE? 8th March 2011

It’s hard to believe that it has been the best part of 4 months since my iPhone stopped working in my Volvo, and it was 2 months ago that Apple first seeded the beta that had a fix in it (but I and most other owners couldn’t download).

Well as of this Friday evening I should be able to install that update and start using my car system again. I find it hard to believe that it needs 4 months to get this fixed – and if I had purchased a new Volvo recently I would be seriously unimpressed!

So overall not great customer care from Apple in my view – a sign of things to come?

12 thoughts on “iOS 4.2.1 USB issue

    JAKE said:
    November 23, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    I also upgraded my iPhone to iOS 4.2 and when I plugged my iPhone into my Volvo S40, I received a “USB UNREADABLE” error message. I don’t have any other iOS devices and my iPhone was my sole way of listening to music and podcasts. (on my long commute to work) Hopefully, this bug will be fixed in an update.

    Simon Dare responded:
    November 23, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    I have had to go out and buy an aux cable so at least I can get some music in the car – but I can’t charge through the USB connection at the same time, I have to use the cigarette lighter. Cables everywhere!

    I am not best pleased with Apple – all we can hope is that they release a swift update, but that is unlikely to be for a few weeks at the best!

    Eric said:
    November 27, 2010 at 1:51 am

    Hi Guys –

    Same problem here. I think the only useful thing we can do is to complain to Volvo and Apple – please add your voice to the chorus here:

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2657752&start=60&tstart=0

    and open a support ticket at Apple…. One or two people calling in won’t make much of a ripple, but if we all are posting on their support board, they can’t ignore it as easily. Also, it will be seen by new Volvo owners whose units wont work, pressuring Volvo to do something as well..

    Please surf on over…

      Simon Dare responded:
      November 27, 2010 at 7:30 am

      Couldn’t agree more, we need to make our selves heard!

    Ian Drummond said:
    November 28, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Same for me, updated my iPhone to OS 4.2 last night and it’s now unreadable by my Volvo C30. This has happened before and switching off and on again has worked but not this time

    Calvin Straub said:
    November 29, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I updated Friday to 4.2.1just before leaving on a long ski trip. 2011 Volvo XC60 USB Unreadable. Fortunately my old phone was still in car since i upgraded and it is OS 3!

      Simon Dare responded:
      November 29, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      I am using an old phone now as an ipod, but it’s not an ideal answer! I am not convinced that Apple are directly addressing this issue, we will have to see if things start to work in the next update – whenever that appears.
      I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that an ipod is the answer for music (assuming that will work!)

        mjvdhoek said:
        November 29, 2010 at 6:38 pm

        Simon,

        An itouch has the same problem, I bought an ipod touch 32GB to have a dedicated music library in my car. After upgrading to ios 4.2.1 it did not work anymore. Luckily on the aple Forum there is a threat about downgrading, which I manged to succesfully do (so now back again on IOS 4.1 which runs fine)

        Before the next upgrade I will definately check the forum again to see if it will work 😉

    bc said:
    December 7, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Have the same problem with volvo and iphone after the upgrade. Apple has become to large and has started treating their customers like microsoft. Time to seriously consider an android phone instead.

      Simon Dare responded:
      December 7, 2010 at 8:42 pm

      I am still hopeful of a fix – it may not be a deliberate fix by apple but possibly another change that allows it to work again. Time will tell, rumours of an update on Friday still exist….

    Gordon said:
    January 8, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Same problem, Volvo, USB – help?

    mjvdhoek said:
    March 12, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    after 107 days…
    IOS 4.3 solves the problem (provided the IOS loads on your new iPod/IPhone, since IOS 4.3 does not support all older models…)

    But my iPod Toch 4 and iPhone 4 are both working fine in my Volvo V50. Yippeee!!!

    Next time I will check the internet forums before upgrading….

Leave a Reply

