Stamps from my childhood!

Posted on Updated on

It’s not often that a set of stamps can get me excited (well actually never), but a set released this last week takes me back to my favourite TV programs from the 60’s and 70’s when I was a small child!

This was a time when we didn’t have hours of kids programming on TV, so anything that was good was watched by everyone! That is probably why people my age remember Gerry Anderson’s programs so fondly. He made numerous series of fantastic puppet programs; including Stingray, Captain Scarlet, Joe 90 and my favourite – Thunderbirds! (I am not old enough to remember Supercar or Fireball XL5).

The stamps celebrate the five decades of work by iconic Thunderbirds creator Gerry Anderson, Royal Mail’s first stamp issue of 2011 features some of the most recognisable ‘marionettes’.

The stamp series, is titled FAB: The Genius of Gerry Anderson, featuring Stingray, Captain Scarlet, Supercar, Fireball XL5 and Joe 90.

I am not a stamp collector but I may just have to buy a set!

4 thoughts on “Stamps from my childhood!

    Tim GARRATT said:
    January 19, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Since you are older than me and I can remember Fireball XL5 there is something amiss with your education here…

    So you can re-live it try this!

    [audio src="http://ufoseries.com/barry/fireball.mp3" /]

      Simon Dare responded:
      January 19, 2011 at 9:51 pm

      Not sure a couple of months makes that much difference! Perhaps we didn’t get it down South! I really don’t remember watching it – honest!

    Tim GARRATT said:
    January 20, 2011 at 8:49 am

    “a couple of months” = “a couple of years”?

    I probably watched the repeats!

    Simon Dare responded:
    January 20, 2011 at 8:58 am

    1962 for both of us I believe?

Leave a Reply

