A sign of things returning to normal?

Posted on Updated on

There are some things in life which you can ‘rely on’ and provide a level of ‘normality’ to life.

Over the years one of those has been the James Bond franchise – we were used to regular offerings from the film studios of Bond’s latest exploits. I grew up during one of the very active Bond periods, unfortunately it was during the tenure of Roger Moore as Bond – he should I suppose be my favorite Bond – but he isn’t – he is just too cheesy!

I am a Sean Connery man – until the latest Bond – I do like Daniel Craig’s take on Bond, he has a similar approach to Connery.

We have however had to wait over 4 years without a new film. The studio (MGM) who own the franchise were in serious financial trouble and filed for bankruptcy protection in 2010. Things must be on the up though as they have now announced that the next film will start filming this week for release in October 2012 (it’s in my diary).

The latest 007 adventure – Skyfall – is being directed by Sam Mendes and will star Daniel Craig for the third time with leading ladies French actress Berenice Marlohe and Naomie Harris. I hope they make this a good one, as next year marks the 50th anniversary of the first Bond movie, 1962’s Dr No. So there is a lot to live up to!

So perhaps the return of a healthy film franchise suggests a return to normality – probably not, but it’s a start (although I bet they don’t use Greece for any location work!)

2 thoughts on “A sign of things returning to normal?

    trixfred30 said:
    November 7, 2011 at 8:28 am

    I was a Moore era Bond, so to speak. And try as I might I still think he is the best Bond (its the quips he came out with I think). I hope the new film is slightly less serious (I mean its getting a bit Bourne Identity and btw what happened to that franchise?)

      Simon Dare responded:
      November 7, 2011 at 8:49 am

      Perhaps it’s my age – the 70’s is an era I am trying to forget!

Leave a Reply

