Thanks Apple!

Posted on

a bit of an upgrade!

I blogged a month or so ago about my 1st Edition iPod Nano – the first of the thin apple iPods and my favourite by a long way. I purchased it whilst on holiday in Chicago a few years ago and it has provided sterling service ever since – either in my car (now replaced by my iPhone) or now in a dock in the conservatory hooked up to a stereo unit.

Apple contacted me in November to say the unit had an issue with its battery – it could catch fire when charging – so a box was sent out for me to return the unit for a replacement to be sent back to me. They said to allow six weeks for the exchange unit to arrive.

Now – I am a bit of a geek – so I tend to read many of the Apple ‘techi’ web sites, it is amazing what you can learn from them and this was no exception!

Not long after the world-wide replacement program was announced the rumours started about what the replacement unit would actually be – the original documentation said a similar first edition unit. But, as time passed the rumours suggested Apple had an issue – they didn’t have enough spare parts as so many units had been returned to them (obviously they last longer than even Apple expect!). Initial rumours were then along the lines of Apple waiting to get as many units back as possible so they could cannibalize them – not a popular choice but acceptable to me.

However, more recent posts on the sites have suggested that Apple are actually sending out the latest Nano as a replacement – that is the 6th edition with the colour touch screen that can also be used as a watch! Now this did get me a bit excited I will admit – although I was not counting my chickens on this!

But, I have now received my email confirming the replacement is on its way to me – and guess what? The product model code it states in the email is indeed a 6th edition Nano – Result!

So I have gone from a 2GB 1st edition to an 8GB 6th edition at no cost due to Apples fantastic customer service approach.

Way to go Apple!

Leave a Reply

