More proof (if it was needed) that Apple products just work!

Posted on Updated on

it's all in the hinge....

This week I have been on the hunt for a case for an iPad, I already have ‘a solution’ on my personal iPad which works perfectly – but it is too costly for a work funded iPad. Let me explain;

On my iPad I have an Apple smart cover – the one that folds back into a triangle to support the machine for typing etc. it has a magnetic bar that holds it onto the iPad and clever hinges that work brilliantly. It is however £60 (it’s a leather one), it still needs a case for the rear of the machine (brilliantly provided by an Incipio smart feather case). Total cost around £85, but it works and I am very happy with it – especially the Apple bit!

So I have been looking for a cheaper alternative for my second iPad – shouldn’t be difficult. – right?

Well actually it is very difficult, there are lots of cheap imitations of the Apple product, but they just don’t work as well – they are not all bad (although some are), just not as good!

I have ended up with a ‘Skinny’ from STM, it is £35 and is not exactly what I was after but appears to work how I want it to. What it has highlighted to me though is that there is a lot of rubbish out there from manufacturers for apple products and although Apple products are expensive they all have something in common – they just work!

4 thoughts on “More proof (if it was needed) that Apple products just work!

    Richard Baker said:
    March 4, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    Simon, I’ve been dithering over an iPad for a couple of months now, but only because all the chatter about the launch of the iPad 3 made me wonder if I should wait. Whatever model I buy, I’ll be looking for a case which has a keyboard because of the amount of writing I do. have you ever copme across soemthing like that in all your searching?

      Simon Dare responded:
      March 4, 2012 at 6:48 pm

      Richard

      There are quite a few around – in effect bluetooth keyboards attached to the case. I have wondered about getting the apple bluetooth keyboard but so far have got on really well with the screen keyboard, it really isn’t that bad. I will hunt out some stuff I have found on keyboards and send it over to you – the guys in KRCS in the Victoria Centre in Nottingham are really helpful and the stuff they sell is decent. Most of the stuff in places like PC World is cheaper but you tend to get what you pay for.

      Simon

    […] my old Psion Netbook did in years gone by). That raises the question of how to protect it, I have two case options (we are a two iPad household). Firstly the Apple smart cover which is still the most elegant cover […]

    small business funding group said:
    December 13, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    Hello! I’ve been reading your weblog for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

Leave a Reply

