There is radio – and then there is Jeremy Vine

Posted on Updated on

20120711-175440.jpg
That’s how we all feel Jeremy!

I listen to quite a lot of radio, I regularly spend quite a large amount of my day in the car and enjoy listening to much of the BBC’s output – I have had my fill of commercial radio. I am a huge fan of Radio 4, there is nothing better to wake up to in the morning than the dulcet tones of John Humphreys on the ‘Today’ show.

And I am definitely a Radio 2 man for much of its music output (I would listen to 6 radio but don’t have a digital tuner in my car), however there is one part of the day on Radio 2 that I can’t listen to – the Jeremy Vine show. I don’t know if it’s just me but I find him rather pointless and deeply annoying!

His program is apparently supposed to deal with the matters in the news that ‘matter’? I just don’t get it, the items are generally pointless and an insult to the listeners intelligence as far as I see it! The other day when the tax avoidance issue was in the news his phone-in was based around the following question;

Is Jimmy Carr still funny?

Is it me or is that a totally pointless and trite question?

The final straw was on today’s show, the earth shattering issue that had to be addressed?

Should people be forced to walk on moving walkways?

Does it matter? No!

I am a huge fan of BBC radio, it is without doubt the best part of the whole corporation, but they really need to do something about Jeremy Vine! And what ever they do please don’t give him more time on TV instead – he is just as bad there!

4 thoughts on “There is radio – and then there is Jeremy Vine

    John Lyle said:
    July 12, 2012 at 9:04 am

    I completely agree. I can’t listen to his trite, biased dreadful show. It’s like listening to the Daily Mail and everything bad that stands for.

      Simon Dare responded:
      July 12, 2012 at 9:05 am

      Glad it’s not just me – I just can’t understand why the Beeb stick with him!

    Charles Trafford said:
    July 12, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    I always switch him off. Take a pointless topic – get a load of irritating listeners with diametrically opposite views on said topic to shout over each other for half an hour while JV eggs them on – start next half hour. Repeat ad nauseam. OFF.

      Simon Dare responded:
      July 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm

      As always Mr Trafford – you have excellent taste. Glad to see you can’t stand the bloke either. Time for a campaign against Vine?

Leave a Reply

