Royal Mail parcel anyone?

Posted on Updated on

This is a cracker – if you have any doubts about sending anything valuable via the Royal Mail, this will ensure you never trust them again!

Currently running the show?

I had to visit the Royal Mail sorting office at Clarke Road, Nottingham on Saturday, to collect a parcel which they had been unable to deliver earlier in the week (Wednesday). This is fairly common, we are out during the day and the post is never delivered before mid morning. Not great, but the way things are now with the post.

I have blogged before about this sorting office and the lack of parking, so I won’t go over old ground here. This issue however is a major one and makes you really wonder if you can trust the Royal Mail with your valuable post!

So,on arrival I showed the staff member my ‘we couldn’t deliver’ card and my ID when requested. Remember the ID inspection – it becomes rather salient later on in my story.

Off went the ‘posty’ to find the package, I could hear some ‘office banter’ in the background and everything appeared fine. A few minutes later our ‘happy posty’ re appeared with a package – ‘here you go’ says he. This would be fine apart from a few small point;

  1. It was from Amazon (I hadn’t ordered anything from them – although he didn’t know that)
  2. It was the wrong shape (I was expecting something cube shaped – it was flat – although again he wouldn’t know that)
  3. It was addressed to someone else – getting dodgy for our man now
  4. It was to a totally different address – really dodgy ground now for our man!

So, what did our man do – he jokingly said “oops, sorry I got distracted”

Off he went to find the correct package – which he couldn’t, so I had to leave my phone number and was told they would ‘do a parcel search’ – but not before Monday.

what we have here then is a total lack of quality control. There are signs up saying that identity checks are taken very seriously and packages wont be released without ID. What they should say is that packages won’t be released without any old ID – not necessarily your own!

We wait to see if the package can be found, it was an item that my wife had been looking for to complete a china collection, very rarely has she seen one, so if it is lost it will be particularly annoying.

My issue is that I could have walked out with the wrong package – is that what happened to mine? Frankly I won’t be using the Royal Mail for any parcels anytime soon!

UPDATE –

Apparently I have done the Post Office a dis-service – for they don’t deal with our mail now (they became a separate company from Royal Mail in April apparently). Obviously I missed this fact! My blog has been amended accordingly!

So to confirm it is Royal Mail who I have an issue with – that’s much clearer!

Leave a Reply

