An early Christmas treat…..

Posted on Updated on

I have had an interest in photography for many years, when at school I used to do my own processing and printing (B&W only). My time spent doing it has varied and in recent years I have had less time than I would have wanted – and if I am honest the move from film to digital was not a comfortable one. My old Olympus OM1n, OM2spot and OM3 were awesome bits of kit (the OM3 especially) and the initial digital OM cameras really didn’t do it for me.

20121222-093525.jpgThat all changed a few years ago with the introduction of the Olympus micro 4/3rds system, and the purchase of my PEN EP-1. This is a small non SLR that takes quite amazing quality photos for its size – it is small and very portable, beautifully made and almost a compact which takes (almost) DSLR quality shots . It re-kindled my love of photography and set me wanting more – but what to go for?

Well around 12 months ago Olympus launched the OM-D EM5 which looked amazing. As with much of today’s gear it has a retro look and feel – it harks back to the old OM cameras I used and loved.

It transpired it was just what I had been waiting for, results were terrific apparently. I have managed to resist the urge until now, but finally caved in due to the offer of a free 45mm lens as well as part of an Olympus promotion. Well, my pre-Christmas present has just arrived and I am itching to play! I will update the blog as I get to grips with it – it looks like it will be a photo rich holiday season!

2 thoughts on “An early Christmas treat…..

    Adrian said:
    December 23, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Just had a look on the Olympus website – Lovely bit of kit… Look forward to seeing the results!

      Simon Dare responded:
      December 23, 2012 at 9:36 am

      Looks and feels like a real camera too – daughter has to do a couple of photo assignments over the holiday for her uni work, should be a good test of the kit!

Leave a Reply

