I am getting old!

Posted on Updated on

I have another birthday rapidly approaching, which is probably why I keep relating current ‘problems’ to how it wouldn’t have been an issue when I was a kid! Let me explain;

My car has Xenon headlights that give an amazing light and also steer with the car – sounds a bit flash but they are brilliant and I make no apology for them (or the puns included within this sentence). This week I had a message appear on my dashboard to tell me one of the low beam bulbs had failed (not difficult to spot in the dark, but the message confirms it!). So, on arriving home I got the manual from the car to see how to replace the bulb – shouldn’t be too bad – or so I thought.

Is the one on the right really better?
Is the one on the right really better?

In big red writing it told me it wasn’t something that I could do and it had to go to the garage to be sorted – not a great start, but a call to the garage confirmed they could sort it for me. However, on arrival there the lamp had lit again, and no issue could be found!

Now when I was younger and cars had bulbs that anyone could change we didn’t have this sort of problem! Are things getting just too complicated, or am I just getting old?

In reality the cars in the 70s and much of the 80s were rubbish (apart from my 205 GTI) – unreliable, made of rubbish materials, and lots of things failed – but I can dream!

2 thoughts on “I am getting old!

    Richard Baker said:
    January 5, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Not sure it’s your distinguished years, Simon, so much as car companies desperate to find ways of stopping service and repair revenue leaking out of their dealer networks. I heard last week that Volvo are refusing to share software updates with independent garages, even though it appears to go against the spirit of EU trading laws. Next gizmo? One which automatically steers your car towards a dealer when the service light comes on…

      Simon Dare responded:
      January 5, 2013 at 10:27 am

      It’s the fact that the lights didn’t work for almost 24 hours, I had a warning message on my dash, but when they checked the computer it hadn’t logged any faults that gets me!
      What is the point of all this tech (which I am a fan of normally) if it just fails totally to spot what it is there for in the first place!
      I am sure the first to come up with your suggested gizmo will be BMW – it would be so ‘them’!

Leave a Reply

