Is it me?

Posted on Updated on

I was known in the office at one time as ‘Dr Doom’ – I had a rather negative approach to things apparently! That was a while ago and hopefully my outlook has changed in recent years….

There is one thing that still concerns me though – I do seem to find myself complaining rather a lot when dealing with people in this country. This has made me question myself – is it me or is service and customer care something that is sadly lacking in the UK now or do I expect too much of people?

20130823-160656.jpgMy recent run in with the Royal Mail is a classic case – I eventually got to speak to a manager, who to be fair was polite and tried to be helpful. His intervention didn’t produce my lost package, but at least he tried. I did have to chase him a couple of times, and he didn’t return calls that he had promised to do (not good in my books) – but he was at least helpful and polite.

Contrast that with the staff below him who were the day to day face of the sorting office – they really got quite defensive and in some cases abrupt and rude when challenged about a lost package. They obviously had no idea about how to deal with an issue – and the end feeling they gave was one of just not caring about their customers!

Now, that may or may not be the case – they would no doubt blame ‘the management’ and probably visa versa (that is a British disease) – but why do so many people in this country have no pride or interest in their work or company?

When I was a kid my parents always used to say that ‘good manners cost nothing’ – it annoyed me as a child, but how right they were. I know I have been ‘banging on’ recently about the USA and the way they treat customers, but we really do need to look closely at ourselves as a country – we really don’t come over as very nice people in my view!

Leave a Reply

