A rather special place

Posted on Updated on

I don’t get to go to the cinema as much as I would like, generally it is due to being busy with other things. I enjoy films and when in Nottingham tend to go to the Broadway Cinema which is a fantastic place. A recent visit to London however offered a chance to see a film and go to a very special cinema.

105_odeon_site_1

The film was The Railway Man – which I recommend, one of the best films I have seen in many years.

The cinema was The Odeon Leicester Square, a place that I have seen on numerous televised premiers but had never been to. It must be quite rare in the UK now as it is basically a single huge auditorium, much as all cinemas were many years ago. It was lovely to be in such an iconic building, and the digital projection onto such a large screen was amazing.

I can thoroughly recommend a visit if you are in London, it was worth every penny (it isn’t cheap). Sitting in the circle was an amazing experience although at the showing I attended the auditorium was not very full – I got the impression that the cinema was very much a ‘flagship’ and perhaps doesn’t make much if any money for Odeon Cinemas.

But what a flagship!

Leave a Reply

