The wonder of fibre…

Posted on

I have been a long term user of the Virgin fibre network in Nottingham (originally NTL), for both my TV and internet. It is fair to say that until recently their service has been brilliant, with downtime counted in hours over many years.

Sadly over the last few weeks there have been some issues – the majority national ones caused by DNS server issues – something that could happen to any provider but extremely annoying! Add to this the recent underground fire that completely took out much of South Notts as far as Virgin was concerned for days and you get the picture – I was ready to call the retention department at Virgin to vent my frustrations.

speed

So the other day I rang, was offered some deals to stay by the ‘normal’ call centre, but was then passed to retention and got a monthly reduction and a speed increase to 152mb for my broadband.

Now you read about fast connections and how quickly things download at this connection speed – but when you actually experience 152mbps it is really impressive! And my connection currently is slightly faster than that as you can see above! Very large downloads (GB’s) take a few minutes rather than half an hour or more. I am impressed and as long as the recent DNS issues are a thing of the past I will continue to praise Virgin Broadband.

One thought on “The wonder of fibre…

    amitsbajaj said:
    July 16, 2014 at 11:48 am

    That’s just brilliant Simon – I’m on 60Mb and I love it, but I can’t imagine how fast 152Mb would be be! Sucks about the DNS issues but to get that sort of upgrade is great – I wish I had Virgin Broadband in my area – I’m stuck with BT until Virgin decide to make their way here!

Leave a Reply

